A Light At The End Of The Tunnel

I just wanted to take a minute to talk about something that helped restore my faith a little bit in non-celiacs understanding celiacs.

I had been in a relationship for 4 and a half years, and thankfully when I found out I was celiac we both went gluten free together. I never had to worry about cross contamination or anything. I felt so lucky. So when that relationship ended, and I realized I had to start dating again, I was really scared. I was afraid first of all to tell people, “hey I can’t eat anything” and I was also afraid of how to address things like brushing your teeth before kissing, etc.

So, long story short. I finally met someone who I was interested in. It took me a few weeks and a ridiculous amount of text messages, to finally come out with my entire list of allergies. To my surprise she completely accepted my allergies, and even started doing research about gluten free living.

A few weeks into dating she realized that when I went to her house, unless I brought food, I never ate. So she has found a gluten free cooking class to take, is going to attend a gluten free convention with me, and is in the process of buying separate pots, pans, and basic dishes so I can safely eat.

These gestures mean so much to me because it means that some people really do care.

I would love to hear anyone elses stories about friends or family that really do understand. I feel like a lot of what I hear is horror stories about no one understanding and how lonely the diet can be.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

