Oh Starbucks…..

A few months ago I was on twitter and saw that Starbucks was releasing a Gluten Free treat. I was incredibly excited even though I knew I most likely would not be able to eat it because along with gluten I am allergic to dairy, soy, sesame, almond, cashew, refined sugar, dairy and corn. I thought to myself “finally gluten free is going main streem” Well as of today Starbucks has officially discontinued the gluten free Valencia cake. Why? Because they think it is to sweet and decadent, so they have replaced the cake with the Kind bars.

Here is my opinion…”WHAT????”  This does not make much sense to me. Yes it is decadent, but is anything at Starbucks not decadent? I’m sorry, but I never used to go to Starbucks thinking “hmmm I want something healthy, i’ll go to Starbucks.” Frappachinos have like 10,000 calories in them, well ok, maybe not that many, but you get my point.

I am sad that Starbucks has chickened out. It seems to me that maybe they realized the cost was expensive to produce them and that many celiacs cannot eat just anything that is gluten free due to all the other allergies that come along with it.

I can’t find the official statement from Starbucks saying they are discontinuing the cake, but as soon as I do, I will post it. Here is a link to another blog who has good information on this: Gluten Freeway LA

Thanks for reading

2 responses to “Oh Starbucks…..

  1. Nice. Nice job FAILING, Starbucks. Oh, and by the way, a venti Carmel frap with whip has somewhere around 60 grams of fat, 550 calories.

  2. I understand your frustration. I have the peanut,soy,legume,tree-nut allergy (anaphylaxis) and have had reactions from Starbucks even cross-contaminating soy milk with my drink. I’m sorry they are discontinuing the cake; sucks when that happens…One of my favorite things used to be granola bars….ahem, not anymore….my best bet is making it myself.

    I’ve come to taking up cooking most of my food…this has kept me safe from all the derivatives of soy and nuts out there and makes me feel alot beter =) Check out my blogs…you may find some info you can use as well!

Leave a Reply

