Welcome!

I am going to start this blog by introducing myself.  I am 23 years old, born and raised in Colorado. I suffered from pretty severe health problems my entire life. I was raised on goats milk because I could not do cows milk. I had severe eczema my entire childhood, to the point of staying up every night crying because it hurt so bad.I was also anemic and hypoglycemic.  But nothing compared to the stomach issues I suffered my entire life. By highschool my digestive issues were so bad that I missed more than half of my junior year.

The doctors that I did see wrote it off to stress of being a teenager and told my I had IBS. The diagnosis was great and all, but I still had severe digestive problems, so I started trying alternative things. I started going to a chirpractor, acupuncturist and homeopath. These things worked better, but I was still suffering.

After highschool graduation I pulled myself together and got ready to go to college. I was pretty excited but also apprehensive. My first year of  college ended up being a complete nightmare. I was sicker than I had ever been, and the fact that I got mono did not help matters. By the end of my first year at college my worst symptom set in, the anxiety. I all of a sudden was housebound and could not understand why. I was feeling things I had never experirenced. I could not breath, I couldn’t go anywhere, it was horrible.

After going to therapy for about 6 months I got to the point where I could move out of my parents house into my own apartment. I then finally found the one person who helped turn everything around. After 4 failed attempts at therapists, I found one who I clicked with. I went through my entire history with her and she mentioned that she had a great naturopath that she wanted me to see.

I set up an appointment with him. He ran a few tests and at my first appointment told me to stop eating gluten and refined sugar, and to come back in two weeks. I did and I could not believe the change. Yes the detox sucked, but miraculously I felt a million times better than I ever had, and the anxiety was slowly going away.

It has been almost 2 years now since I have been completly off gluten. I could not be happier. I wanted to start this blog to share recipes, product reviews and my journey as a celiac.

One response to “Welcome!

  1. Hi
    I started my blog for exactly the same reasons!
    Check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

