My Family

The Family

July 8, 2009 · Leave a Comment

Here is one of my most frustrating parts of being gluten free:

As I mentioned I have been gluten free for 2 years now. I got tested and everything, and feel a hundred times better than I did growing up. My only complaint about my diet is my family. They just don’t get it. What set off this post is I got a call from my grandmother last night telling me she did not want me to live my life in a bubble because I am a celiac, and the only thing I could think was at least I am healthy, and taking care of myself at a young age (23) My moms entire side of the family has had every health problem attributed to celiac disease, and though none of them have been tested, I would be willing to put money on the fact that the celiac comes from their side.

My mom especially acts like this is a choice of mine and seems to feel the need to constantly point out all the things I cannot do, cannot eat. Yes this diagnosis has had a huge impact on my life, especially my social life, but I can honestly say I don’t feel left out, my life just takes a little more planning now.

I would love to hear other peoples experiences with their families.

2 responses to “My Family

  1. Yours is a story I have heard before. How sad that they haven’t taken the time to research the disease.
    I am fortunate. My entire family is wonderful about my gluten free life (maybe sometimes a little overzealous)
    My biggest issue with family and friends is the constant appologies for eating the things I can’t.
    The next time I hear a story like yours, I will ask them to visit your site and share with you:)
    Take care of you,
    Aunt Jayne

  2. Thanks for the comment. I am glad to hear that your family is supportive, I am hoping mine will come around in time.

    My friends always apologize for eating gluten filled food and I always remind them that I really have no desire to eat anything containing gluten so it really is not a big deal.

    Take care,

    Chelsea

Leave a Reply

